jman21

3 years ago

Can DevOps Engineer explain to me of your day to day role in depth

Hi guys I am a beginner currently studying linux to become DevOps engineer and as the question stated above I just wanted to know what is the daily routine of DevOps Engineer . Also in term of linux, how much linux do you use as part of your devops role, can you please provide an example, again a noob here so im just trying get many info as possible thank you

Image of rilindo
rilindo
3 years ago
At my current role, I ensure agility and compliance through infrastructure code, release management automation and public cloud security. For the pass six months, I was able to: • Create a scalable service discovery platform powered by Consul. • Deploy an ELK stack into production using Chef and Docker. • Stabilize corporate internal network infrastructure. • Fabricate a new automation platform based on Ansible and Rundeck. • Setup continuous build environment with Jenkins to speed up deployments. • Architect and established an API gateway in front of our micro-services. • Enhance user experienced by developing a web caching service. • Align AWS infrastructure towards best practices. It may be different for other DevOps engineers. :)
Image of rmward
rmward
2 years ago
This is an interesting question- I think the "daily routine" of a DevOps Engineer is going to vary widely and will largely be dependent upon a particular engineer's company culture and where both they and DevOps itself fit within that culture. 

I think at the heart of it, you need to meet the needs of the business and you need to constantly think about value streams and analyze those practices which are not contributing value to the product itself. Anything which is not should be considered operational waste. As such, I think the role of a DevOps engineer is to put the tools in place which help to reduce operational waste and optimize the value steams which feed the product you are releasing.