Skip to main content
abebutel

1 year ago

Passed AWS CSA-a and SysOps Admin exams

Hello All.

While I have some experience in IT support roles (from helpdesk to Sys Admin) for the last 7 years I was running a low-tech company.  A couple of months ago I decided to leave my job and get back to IT.  I knew I'd have to refresh my skills or learn new ones and after briefly considered Cyber Security (even got the Security+ cert) I settled on cloud computing.
First of all, I can't believe I knew nothing about AWS up until about a month ago.  But ever since I started with my first course here on LA, I've been like a kid in a candy store.  So after finishing the Solution Architect course (  @braun0  - thank you), I rushed to take the old exam.  BIG mistake - I failed!  Looking back on it, I wasn't fully prepared and I found the test to be more difficult then the second time around.  After failing, a friend recommended that I try another learning site.  I did and found the course there to be a bit more updated.  Additionally, I used Whizlab tests (2018 version) and researched every wrong answer I got on the practice exams.
Second time around I took the 2018 version of the test and passed!!  While I found the exam to be easier, I was also much better prepared.
Upon passing, I thought that my Sys Admin experience will help me towards passing the SysOps Admin exam.  While that wasn't the case, having just completed the CSA course and exam definitely did help.  Again, I took the course both here and on the other site but this time found the material here more helpful (thank you  @trenthayes )  .  Again, I used Whizlabs - found exams 1&2 as mostly a waste of time while the other exams were better.  So 8 days after passing the CSA exam, I sat for and passed the SysOps Admin exam.
I also took the practice exams for each - found the CSA one to be good but the SysOps one was a waste (to me).

Study the material - don't just memorize it.