jbazz_ctl

3 years ago

Just offered a job as a Cloud Solutions Architect

So I've spent about 12 years in the tech sector, a good amount of that with private cloud and traditional hosting solutions.  I realized in 5 years if I'm still talking about CPU socket configurations and server hardware options then I'll be a dinosaur in this industry.

A few months ago I discovered Linuxacademy when I was contemplating how to learn more about public cloud with the goal of transitioning to a job where I could work with AWS daily.  So I started studying for the AWS-CSA with Linuxacademy.  This site is just an incredible value between the depth of content and the easy to access labs.  I've got the CSA and the DA now.  SysOps soon to come.

Yesterday I was offered a FANTASTIC job as a Pre-Sales SA with a new company.   This would NOT have happened so quickly without Linuxacademy.  I was given whiteboarding activities to complete live and off the cuff and because of the material covered here I could walk them up-and-down, backwards and blindfolded, on a number of dynamic, highly available mult-tiered solutions. 

Now, I'm not saying that simply coming to LinuxAcademy and working through the material will guarantee you a Solutions Architect position with no other experience, but this site is definitely more than enough to help you demonstrate to other professionals that you know what you're talking about.  

Linuxacadmy members - the cloud talent pool is very shallow right now.  There is so much opportunity for people who understand the fundamentals of public cloud and can articulate it clearly and in a meaningful manner.  Keep pushing through the material, read everything, grab a friend or spouse and teach them something you learned as if they're an 8 year old.  If you hear an industry term you don't know, look it up.  Chase it down a rabbit hole and add it to your arsenal.

Thanks again, Linuxacademy.  I'll keep sending colleagues your way.