AWS Certified Security - Specialty Certification

Training Architect
course instructor image
Adrian Cantrill
If it's about cats, the blockchain, cloud, automation, general tech, biohacking, minimalism , economics or finance I probably want to know about it :) Certification addict and trainer who loves to help others grow and achieve :)

Course Introduction

Getting Started

Domain 1 : Incident Response

Domain 1 - Introduction

1.1 - Given an AWS Abuse Notice, Evaluate a Suspected Compromised Instance or Exposed Access Keys

1.2 Verify that the Incident Response plan includes relevant AWS services.

1.3 Evaluate the Configuration of Automated Alerting and Execute Possible Remediation of Security-Related Incidents and Emerging Issues

Domain 2 : Logging and Monitoring

Domain 2 - Introduction

2.3 Design and Implement a Logging Solution

2.4 Troubleshoot Logging Solutions

2.1 Design and implement security monitoring and alerting.

2.2 Troubleshoot security monitoring and alerting.

Domain 3: Infrastructure Security

3.1 Design Edge Security on AWS

3.2 Design and implement a secure network infrastructure.

3.3 Troubleshoot a secure network infrastructure.

3.4 Design and implement host-based security.

Identity and Access Management

4.1 Design and Implement a Scalable Authorization and Authentication System to Access AWS Resources.

4.2 Troubleshoot an Authorization and Authentication System to Access AWS Resources.

Data Protection

5.1 Design and implement key management and use.

5.2 Troubleshoot key management.

5.3 Design and implement a data encryption solution for data at rest and data in transit.


Practice Exam

Final Steps


The AWS Certified Security Specialty is a certification based around securing applications in AWS. It is one one three specialty certifications offered by AWS. The certification focuses on five components or domains when designing and operating security in the cloud. These are:

  • Identity and Access Management
  • Detective Controls
  • Infrastructure Protection
  • Data Protection
  • Incident Response

This course has been developed to provide you with the requisite knowledge to not only pass the AWS Certified Security Specialty certification exam but also gain the hands-on experience required to become a qualified AWS security specialist working in a real-world environment.

Please connect with us at in the #security channel if you have questions or feedback.

To access the Security Specialty Runbook:

Study Guides

AWS Certified Security Specialty Exam Blueprint

White Paper: NIST Cybersecurity Framework

White Paper: AWS Best Practices for DDoS Resiliency

AWS Security Checklist

Security Specialty Runbook Link

Instructor Deck


certificate ribbon icon

Earn a Certificate of Completion

When you complete this course, you’ll receive a certificate of completion as proof of your accomplishment.

Looking For Team Training?

Learn More